ISP Cohort

The Kellogg Institute for International Studies is welcoming its largest-ever cohort of Kellogg International Scholars to campus this semester, following record interest in the Institute’s signature program for undergraduates. 

The 30 sophomores were selected from the largest pool of applicants in the Kellogg International Scholars Program’s (ISP) history, according to Associate Director Holly Rivers. Meanwhile, a growing number of faculty also expressed interest in taking part in the program, in which scholars are paired with a professor to assist in his or her research.

“The popularity of the Kellogg ISP demonstrates the strength of the work students are doing for faculty, how much faculty believe in the program, and the academic ability of the students in the program,” she said. “We had incredible applicants this year.” 

Kellogg ISP was the first program of its kind at the University of Notre Dame and has served as a model for other student-faculty partnership programs on campus. Through ISP, students develop an apprentice-like relationship with their faculty mentor that often lasts for the duration of their time at Notre Dame. 

Seventy-one Notre Dame students are now in the program. Rivers noted that the newest ISP scholars come from a range of cultures and backgrounds. 

New to ISP this year is something students have long asked for, Rivers said: a place to gather. For the first time, ISP scholars have a dedicated area to meet and study with the opening of the new Kellogg Commons in the Hesburgh Center. The space gives them the chance to talk informally with faculty, graduate students, and visiting fellows. 

“Making these connections is something they can’t get in a classroom,” she said. 

ISP started in 2003 with nine undergraduates. Nearly 150 students have graduated from and 100 faculty fellows have participated in ISP since its inception.

The new ISP students and their advisers are: 

Kate BaileySteve Reifenberg
Elsa BarronRev. Robert Dowd, CSC
Marie BondAlexandros Taflanidis
Timothy BurleyErnesto Verdeja
Samuel CannovaErnest Morrell
Yanlin ChenA. James McAdams
Kaitlyn CoxVania Smith-Oka
Cindy EmenaloAndrew Gould
Mary Regan FitzgeraldAndrew Gould
Madeline FoleyAtalia Omer
Sarah GalbenskiSusan Blum
Yuanmeng HeSusan Blum
Lisa HuangNitesh Chawla
Rachel IngalIlaria Schnyder
Vincent KaranjaIlaria Schnyder
James LukMichel Hockx
Patrick McCabeJaimie Bleck
Emily MearaSteve Reifenberg
Courtney MitchellTerence McDonnell
Maria Paul RangelMichael Coppedge
David PhillipsPaolo Carozza
Ellen PilNatalie Porter
Marissa PlanteGuillermo Trejo
Matthew RissLionel Jensen
Lillian RodriguezAlexandros Taflanidis
Aimee Gladys UmunyanaLaura Miller-Graff
Natalie YingVictoria Hui
Jingjing YuVictoria Hui
Hind ZahourNitesh Chawla
Xueheng ZhangSusan Blum