Luiz Vilaça presenting research
Graduate Student Opportunities

Kellogg Institute PhD Fellowships

Recipients of this competitive award will receive $6,000 per year to supplement their departmental stipends, disbursed over the period of an academic year, beginning with each academic year. Fellowships are renewable annually for four additional academic years, contingent upon continuing to meet eligibility requirements and satisfactory progress toward the PhD.

PhD Fellows

Our support of graduate students starts before they decide to come to Notre Dame and continues throughout their training. By providing five years of supplemental financial support, the Kellogg Institute aims to attract outstanding students in a variety of disciplines who are committed to the study and understanding of global issues regardless of methodological approach or region of interest. PhD Fellows are active members of our scholarly community, who attend and participate in the lecture series, work in progress sessions, and join us in more social events. They also become eligible to apply for a variety of funding options available to doctoral students affiliated with the Institute.


To be eligible for this award, a student must:

  • Intend to devote his/her major doctoral work to a topic directly related to addressing the Institute's research themes: democracy and human development.
  • Receive an offer of departmental fellowship in a doctoral program at the University of Notre Dame.


Directors of Graduate Studies should submit a letter of nomination along with a complete copy of the student’s application file by the deadline date.

Letters of nomination should be based upon the student’s notable accomplishments, a commitment to working on Kellogg Institute research themes with our faculty fellows, and a passion for scholarship in his/her discipline. Fellowships are awarded on a competitive basis to a limited number of the most outstanding candidates.

Department Nomination Deadline: Friday, February 23, 2024

Submit Nominations to:

Denise Wright
Assistant Director

PhD Fellowship Recipients