Kellogg Institute Director Paolo Carozza has announced the results of the Institute’s annual Visiting Fellowship competition. In a highly selective process, nine scholars representing the disciplines of economics, international development, political science, and sociology were named 2017–18 visiting fellows out of a large pool of applicants.

“We are very pleased by the range and depth of the new cohort of visiting fellows and look forward to welcoming them to our community next year,” says Carozza.

The fellows will conduct research on a wide range of issues related to core Kellogg themes of democracy and human development in Africa, Europe, and Latin America.

“Their scholarly work includes projects on democratic accountability in Africa and in Latin America, on state power in Russia, on lynching in Mexico, on African migration, and on the engagement of development policy and practice with religion,” Carozza says. “It is an exciting mix of both topics and methodological approaches.”

Two of Brazil’s leading political scientists, Francisco Correa Weffort and Pedro Floriano Ribeiro, will hold the Institute’s Brazilian Fulbright Distinguished Chair in Democracy and Human Development, in fall 2017 and spring 2018, respectively.

In addition to senior scholars, the group comprises mid-career and promising junior fellows, including three postdoctoral fellows. Based at institutions in Brazil, Mexico, Portugal, the United Kingdom, and the United States, the four women and five men include natives of Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Mexico, Portugal, Russia, and the US.

The Kellogg Institute for International Studies, part of the University of Notre Dame’s new Keough School of Global Affairs, is an interdisciplinary community of scholars and students from across the University and around the world that promotes research, provides educational opportunities, and builds linkages related to two topics critical to our world—democracy and human development.

Catia Batista

Kathy Corcoran

Séverine Deneulin

Natalia Forrat

Peter Johannessen

Sandra Polanía-Reyes

Pedro Ribeiro

Gema Santmaria

Luis Schiumerini

Pedro Vicente

Francisco Weffort


See all Kellogg Visiting Fellows here.

More about the Kellogg Institute Visiting Fellows Program here.

Contact:  Denise Wright, Program Coordinator, at or 574-631-8523