Judicial Seminar on Constitutionalism and the Rule of Law

Rome Global Gateway

The Judicial Seminar on Constitutionalism and the Rule of Law is part of a series of international gatherings for judges from constitutional and other high-level courts from around the world. Aimed at generating rigorous and in-depth discussion on pressing issues related to the rule of law and constitutionalism, the Judicial Seminar will provide an opportunity to foster intellectual exchange, integrating ideas grounded in Notre Dame’s distinctive emphasis on classical constitutional and natural law principles. This event is co-sponsored by the Notre Dame Law School, Kellogg Institute for International Studies, Nanovic Institute for European Studies, The Federalist Society, and the Notre Dame Center for Citizenship and Constitutional Government.


  • Paolo Carozza, University of Notre Dame
  • Jeff Pojanowski, University of Notre Dame
  • A. J. Bellia, University of Notre Dame


  • Stephanos Bibas, United States Court of Appeals (3rd Cir.)
  • Gresa Caka-Nimani, Constitutional Court of Kosovo
  • Lado Chanturia, European Court of Human Rights (Georgia)
  • Philip Dimitrov, Constitutional Court of Bulgaria 
  • Klemen Jaklič, Constitutional Court of Slovenia
  • Brett Kavanaugh, United States Supreme Court 
  • James Kelly, The Federalist Society
  • Martin Kuijer, Supreme Court of the Netherlands
  • Aldis Laviņš, Constitutional Court of Latvia
  • Mirjana Lazarova Trajkovska, Supreme Court of North Macedonia
  • John Owens, United States Court of Appeals (9th Cir.)
  • Péter Paczolay, European Court of Human Rights (Hungary)
  • Arta Rama-Hajrizi, Constitutional Court of Kosovo
  • Balázs Schanda, Constitutional Court of Hungary
  • Luca Vanoni, University of Milan
  • Konstantine Vardzelashvili, OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR), fmr. Vice President of Constitutional Court of Georgia
  • Lorenza Violini, University of Milan
  • Ganna Yudkivska, Dir. of Centre de la Protection Internationale, fmr. Judge of European Court of Human Rights (Ukraine)
  • Nicolò Zanon, Constitutional Court of Italy
  • Marek Zubik, Constitutional Court of Poland