This workshop (by invitation) will engage scholars in discussing a draft of the book "Lawmaking Under Authoritarianism" by Kellogg Institute Visiting Fellow Alejandro Bonvecchi, considering both the theoretical and the empirical dimensions of a comparative study of lawmaking institutions and performance in autocracies.

This workshop will discuss the draft book Lawmaking under Authoritarism, which argues that factional politics and power-sharing arrangements shape legislative institutions and their performance in autocracies, and shows how dictatorships backed by united and embedded factions have collective executives and relatively more powerful legislatures than those backed by less united and embedded factions, which have personalist executives and weaker legislatures. This one-day workshop brings together Kellogg Faculty and external experts to discuss the theoretical contributions and the empirical cases – Argentina, Brazil, Spain – from the manuscript. The workshop will contribute to debate of a central topic in the Institute’s scholarly agenda: the institutional similarities and differences between democracy and autocracy, and the legacies that regime changes may carry. Debate on these topics is particularly timely as autocratization rises and dictatorships become central players in the global arena.

The workshop is organized in two sessions, separated by a lunch break. The morning session will focus on the manuscript’s theoretical chapters, while the afternoon will concentrate on the empirical cases.

Alejandro Bonvecchi (Torcuato Di Tella University, Kellogg Visiting Fellow), co-author
Emilia Simison (Tulane University), co-author

Michael Coppedge  (University of Notre Dame, Kellogg Institute Faculty Fellow)

Jennifer Gandhi (Yale University)

Benjamin Garcia-Holgado (University of Notre Dame, Kellogg Institute PhD Fellow)

William Kakenmaster (University of Notre Dame, Kellogg Institute PhD Fellow)

Karrie Koesel (University of Notre Dame, Kellogg Institute Faculty Fellow)

Scott Mainwaring (University of Notre Dame, Kellogg Institute Faculty Fellow)

Aníbal Pérez-Liñán (University of Notre Dame, Kellogg Institute Director)

Paul Schuler (Arizona State University)

Natán Skigin (University of Notre Dame, Kellogg Institute PhD Fellow)

Rory Truex (Princeton University)