Nitesh Chawla is the Frank Freimann Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, director of the Data Inference Analysis and Learning Lab, and director of the Lucy Family Institute for Data and Society at the University of Notre Dame, where he is also a Kellogg Institute for International Studies faculty fellow. He has been a Kellogg Institute faculty fellow since 2017.

Chawla is passionate about driving technological innovations in machine learning, and data and network sciences to augment human intelligence and bridge the last mile challenge for the common good. His research is at the frontier of interdisciplinary applications, with innovative work in health and wellness, social and information networks,national security, and climate/environmental sciences.

He is a prolific author and researcher with over 200 published papers with over 14,500 citations and an h-index of 47. He is also the recipient of multiple awards for research, teaching, and community engagement. He is also the founder of Aunalytics, Inc., a data science software and solutions company.

Thematic Interests

Big data for the common good: data science, machine learning, network science and their applications social networks, negotiation and peace processes, health and wellness, and climate/environmental sciences.

Current Research

Innovating new algorithms and technology in machine learning and network science that creatively cohese data and theory is a driving theme of Chawla’s research. His current research program has interdisciplinary applications in health and wellness, development, social sciences, and environmental sciences.

Other Accomplishments & Recognitions
  • 1st Source Bank Commercialization Award, 2016
  • Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computational Intelligence Society (CIS) Outstanding Early Career Award, 2015
  • Rodney F. Ganey, PhD, Faculty Community-Based Research Award, University of Notre Dame, 2014
  • IBM Big Data and Analytics Faculty Award, 2013
  • Michiana 40 under 40 Honor, 2013
  • IBM Watson Faculty Award, 2012
  • National Academy of Engineers New Faculty Fellowship, 2010