Three faculty fellows at the Kellogg Institute for International Studies are among 20 University of Notre Dame faculty members to receive Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, CSC, Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

They are: 

Andrew Gould, an associate professor of political science. 

Terence McDonnell, an associate professor of sociology and a concurrent faculty member at the Keough School of Global Affairs.

Alexandros Taflanidis, an associate professor in the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering & Earth Sciences, the Frank M. Freimann Collegiate Chair in Structural Engineering, and a concurrent associate professor with the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering.  

The Joyce Awards recognize faculty members who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching. In particular, the awards honor professors who create environments that stimulate significant student learning, elevate students to a new level of intellectual engagement, and foster students’ ability to express themselves effectively within their disciplines.

Recipients are selected through a process that includes peer and student nominations. The awards, established in 2007, are presented by the Office of the Provost and are supported by a gift from the late Father Joyce’s classmates of Notre Dame’s Class of 1937. 

Adapted from a story originally posted at