University of Notre Dame
. .
Kellogg Institute Home .

Kellogg Institute Faculty Fellows

At the center of the Kellogg Institute’s many programs and research projects are its faculty fellows—more than 100 fellows from 21 academic departments, centers, institutes, and schools across the University.

Working independently or in collaboration with other scholars, Kellogg faculty fellows engage in research on the Institute’s core themes of democracy and human development, as well as international topics more broadly.

Faculty Fellows by Department

Click here alphabetical list with photos.

Recent profiles

In Memoriam

Sabine G. MacCormack

Guillermo O'Donnell

Africana Studies

Dianne M. Pinderhughes


Christopher Ball

Susan D. Blum

Catherine Bolten

Rev. Patrick D. Gaffney, CSC

Carolyn R. Nordstrom

Rahul Oka

Vania Smith-Oka

Lawrence E. Sullivan

Gabriel Torres Colón

Biological Sciences

Edwin Michael

Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences

Tracy L. Kijewski-Correa

Stephen E. Silliman

Alexandros Taflanidis

East Asian Languages and Cultures

Lionel M. Jensen


Simeon Alder

Rev. Ernest Bartell, CSC

Wyatt Brooks

Kevin Donovan

Kirk Doran

William N. Evans

Antoine Gervais

Thomas Gresik

Richard A. Jensen

Joseph Kaboski

Steve Lugauer

Nelson Mark

Jeff Thurk

Christopher J. Waller

Film, Television, and Theatre

Anton Juan


R. Scott Appleby

Edward (Ted) Beatty

Karen B. Graubart

Semion Lyandres

Paul Ocobock

Jaime M. Pensado


Institute for Latino Studies

Karen Richman

Kellogg Institute for International Studies

Kwan S. Kim

Steve Reifenberg

Jaime Ros

Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies

Larissa Fast

George A. Lopez

Law School

Roger P. Alford

Paolo G. Carozza

Douglass Cassel

Kristine Kalanges

Mary Ellen O'Connell

Liu Institute for Asia and Asian Studies

Nelson Mark

Jonathan Scott Noble

Mendoza College of Business

Viva Bartkus

Jeffrey H. Bergstrand

Emily Sarah Block

Georges Enderle

Juan M. Rivera

John Sherry

Lee A. Tavis

Elizabeth Tuleja


Tala Jarjour

Carmen-Helena Téllez

Nanovic Institute for European Studies

A. James McAdams

Political Science

Jaimie Bleck

Michael Coppedge

Sarah Zukerman Daly

Michael C. Desch

Rev. Robert Dowd, CSC

Amitava Krishna Dutt

Andrew Gould

Alexandra Guisinger

Victoria Tin-bor Hui

Debra Javeline

Robert C. Johansen

Rev. William M. Lies, CSC

George A. Lopez


Political Science (cont'd)

Scott P. Mainwaring

A. James McAdams

Rev. Sean D. McGraw, CSC

David Nickerson

Daniel Philpott

Dianne M. Pinderhughes

Emilia Justyna Powell

Luc Reydams

Rev. Timothy R. Scully, CSC

Guillermo Trejo

Ernesto Verdeja

Romance Languages and Literatures

Thomas Anderson

Ben Heller

Carlos A Jáuregui

Vanesa Miseres

Marisel Moreno

María Rosa Olivera-Williams

Juan Vitulli

Sarah Ann Wells

School of Global Affairs

R. Scott Appleby


Jorge A. Bustamante

Gilberto Cárdenas

Larissa Fast

Robert Fishman

Erin Metz McDonnell

Terence McDonnell

Ann Mische

Christian Smith

Lyn Spillman

J. Samuel Valenzuela


Peter J. Casarella

Rev. Virgilio Elizondo

Rev. Daniel Groody, CSC

Rev. Gustavo Gutiérrez, OP

Fr. Emmanuel Katongole

Rev. Paul V. Kollman, CSC

Rev. Robert Pelton, CSC

Lawrence E. Sullivan

Todd D. Whitmore




Ford Program

Varieties of Democracy

Latin American/North America Church Concerns

Notre Dame Award

Kellogg Faculty Fellows

Visiting Fellows Program

Faculty Research

Working Groups

Undergraduate Student Programs

Graduate Student Programs

International Development Studies Minor

Latin American Studies Minor

Institute Publications

Working Papers

K-12 Resources

Traveling Trunks

Contact Us



The Kellogg Institute promotes scholarship, learning, and linkages that address issues of critical importance to our world. At the center of our interdisciplinary community’s work are two key themes: democratization and human development. 

Research Projects Outreach Faculty Students About