Keough
University of Notre Dame
Hesburgh Center/Kellogg Institute Hesburgh Center/Kellogg Institute Hesburgh Center/Kellogg Institute Hesburgh Center/Kellogg Institute Hesburgh Center/Kellogg Institute Hesburgh Center/Kellogg Institute

Meet Our Next Generation of Scholars

Welcome to our graduate student community!  Here at the Kellogg Institute, we work to make doctoral student affiliates feel welcome, interacting with faculty, staff, visitors, and other students to share their research interests, and to make their time at Notre Dame the most professionally and personally productive.

Click here for an alphabetical list.

Click here for current Dissertation Year Fellows.

Click here for current PhD Fellows.

Anthropology

Nicholas AmesNicholas Ames
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology
names@nd.edu

Sevda ArslanSevda Arslan
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology
sarslan@nd.edu

Amanda Daniela CortezAmanda Daniela Cortez
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology
acortez1@nd.edu

Emily De WetEmily de Wet
Doctoral Affiliate
PhD Fellow
Anthropology
edewet@nd.edu

Persephone DShaun
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology
idshaun@nd.edu

Rieti G. Gengo Rieti G. Gengo
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology and Peace Studies
rgengo@nd.edu

Kristina HookKristina Hook
PhD Fellow
Anthropology and Peace Studies
hook.4@nd.edu

Jelena Jankovic-RankovicJelena Jankovic-Rankovic
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology
jjankovi@nd.edu

Angela J. Lederach Angela J. Lederach
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology and Peace Studies
alederac@nd.edu

Drew MarcantonioDrew Marcantonio
Doctoral Affiliate
Peace Studies
rmarcant@nd.edu

Todd P MarekTodd P Marek
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology
tmarek@nd.edu

Sara Morrow
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology
smorrow3@nd.edu

Charles Morse
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology
cmorse2@nd.edu

Julia Prince-Buitenhuys
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology
jprinceb@nd.edu

Maryam RokhidehMaryam Rokhideh
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology and Peace Studies
mrokhide@nd.edu

Ann Marie ThornburgAnn Marie Thornburg
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology
athornb1@nd.edu

 

 

Biology

Rose Donohue
Doctoral Affiliate
Biological Sciences
rdonohue@nd.edu

Benjamin K. Mayala
Doctoral Affiliate
Biological Sciences
bmayala@nd.edu

 

Economics

Sara EsfahaniSara Esfahani
Doctoral Affiliate
Economics
sesfahan@nd.edu

Jianyu Lu
Doctoral Affiliate
Economics
jlu4@nd.edu

Carlos RondonCarlos Rondón Moreno
PhD Fellow
Economics
crondonm@nd.edu

Reyes Ruiz GonzalezReyes Ruiz González
PhD Fellow
Economics
rruiz1@nd.edu

Dasha Safonova
Doctoral Affiliate
Economics
dsafonov@nd.edu

Ying Shen
Doctoral Affiliate
Economics
yshen4@nd.edu

Jing Wang
Doctoral Affiliate
Economics
jwang19@nd.edu

 

 

Engineering

Maria Gibbs
Doctoral Affiliate
Engineering
mgibbs2@nd.edu

 

 

History

Esteban Alfaro Salas Esteban Alfaro Salas
Doctoral Affiliate
History
ealfaros@nd.edu

Catalina Ararat-OspinaCatalina Ararat-Ospina
PhD Fellow
History
cararato@nd.edu

Jairo Campuzano-HoyosJairo Campuzano-Hoyos
PhD Fellow
History
jcampuza@nd.edu

Raymond L. Drause
Doctoral Affiliate
History
rdrause@nd.edu

Anna FettAnna Fett
Doctoral Affiliate
History and Peace Studies
afett@nd.edu

Felicia MoralezFelicia Moralez
Doctoral Affiliate
History
moralez.1@nd.edu

Robert PalermoRobert Palermo
Dissertation Year Fellow (2015-16)
History
Email: rpalermo@nd.edu

Jillian Plummer
Doctoral Affiliate
History
jplumme2@nd.edu

Augusto Rocha RamirezAugusto Rocha Ramirez
PhD Fellow
History
arochara@nd.edu

Nicholas RobertsNicholas Roberts
Doctoral Affiliate
History
nrobert1@nd.edu

Maria Cecilia UlricksonMaria Cecilia Ulrickson
Doctoral Affiliate
History
mpluta1@nd.edu

Aurelio Valarezo-Dueñas
Doctoral Affiliate
History
avalarez@nd.edu

Carla VillanuevaCarla Villanueva
Doctoral Affiliate
History
cvillanu@nd.edu

 

 

Law

Fatimah Alshehaby
Doctoral Affiliate
Law
falsheha@nd.edu

Bushra KhanBushra Khan
PhD Fellow
Law
bkhan@nd.edu

Andres Lopez LatorreAndrés Felipe López Latorre
Dissertation Year Fellow
Law
alopezla@nd.edu

Pier Paolo Pigozzi SandovalPier Paolo Pigozzi Sandoval
PhD Fellow (2012-2015)
Law School
ppigozzi@nd.edu

Samuel T. Tessema
Doctoral Affiliate
Law School
stessema@nd.edu

 

Literature

Maria Giulia GenghiniMaria Giulia Genghini
Dissertation Year Fellow
Literature
mgenghin@nd.edu

 

 

Peace Studies

Matthew Chandler
Doctoral Affiliate
Sociology and Peace Studies
mchandl4@nd.edu

Karie Cross
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science and Peace Studies
kcross@nd.edu

Heather M. DuBoisHeather M. DuBois
Doctoral Affiliate
Theology and Peace Studies
hdubois@nd.edu

Anna FettAnna Fett
Doctoral Affiliate
History and Peace Studies
afett@nd.edu

Garrett FitzGeraldGarrett FitzGerald
Doctoral Affiliate
Peace Studies and Political Science
gfitzge1@nd.edu

Rieti G. Gengo Rieti G. Gengo
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology and Peace Studies
rgengo@nd.edu

Leonel Guardado
Doctoral Affiliate
Theology and Peace Studies
lguardad@nd.edu

Christopher HawChristopher Haw
Doctoral Affiliate
Theology and Peace Studies
chaw@nd.edu

Kristina HookKristina Hook
PhD Fellow
Anthropology & Peace Studies
hook.4@nd.edu

Hyunjin Deborah Kwak
Doctoral Affiliate
Sociology and Peace Studies
hkwak@nd.edu

Kyle LambeletKyle Lambelet
Doctoral Affiliate
Theology and Peace Studies
klambele@nd.edu

Angela J. Lederach Angela J. Lederach
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology and Peace Studies
alederac@nd.edu

Leslie MacColmanLeslie MacColman
Doctoral Affiliate
Sociology and Peace Studies
lmaccolm@nd.edu

Emily MaidenEmily Maiden
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science and Peace Studies
emaiden@nd.edu

Drew MarcantonioDrew Marcantonio
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology and Peace Studies
rmarcant@nd.edu

Maryam RokhidehMaryam Rokhideh
Doctoral Affiliate
Anthropology and Peace Studies
mrokhide@nd.edu

 

 

Political Science

Juan Albarracín DierolfJuan Albarracín Dierolf
PhD Fellow (2011-2016)
Political Science
jalbarra@nd.edu

Sean Braniff Sean Braniff
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
sbraniff@nd.edu

Mark Brockway
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
mbrockwa@nd.edu

Robert John Burton
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
rburton2@nd.edu

Alejandro Castrillon
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
acastril@nd.edu

Rodrigo Castro CornejoRodrigo Castro Cornejo
PhD Fellow & Dissertation Year Fellow (2010-2015)
Political Science
rcastroc@nd.edu

Chonghyun ChoiChonghyun Choi
PhD Fellow
Political Science
choi.40@nd.edu

Omar Coronel Cuadros
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
ocoronel@nd.edu

Karie Cross
Political Science and Peace Studies
kcross@nd.edu

Benjamin DenisonBenjamin Denison
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
bdenison@nd.edu

Garrett FitzGeraldGarrett FitzGerald
Doctoral Affiliate
Peace Studies and Political Science
gfitzge1@nd.edu

Paul FriesenPaul Friesen
PhD Fellow
Political Science
pfriesen@nd.edu

Maria del Pilar Giannini Bravo
Dissertation Year Fellow
Political Science
giannini.2@nd.edu

Jeremy Graham Jeremy Graham
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
jgraham4@nd.edu

M. Tahir Kilavuz M. Tahir Kilavuz
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
mkilavuz@nd.edu

Minju Kwon
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
mkwon@nd.edu

Cecilia LeroCecilia Lero
PhD Fellow (2010-2015)
Political Science
cecilia.lero@gmail.com

Emily MaidenEmily Maiden
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science and Peace Studies
emaiden@nd.edu

Lucia ManziLucia Manzi
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
lmanzi@nd.edu

Camilo Nieto Matiz Camilo Nieto Matiz
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
cnietoma@nd.edu

Andrea Peña-Vasquez
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
apenavas@nd.edu

Sarah Peters
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
speter10@nd.edu

Ana PetrovaAna Petrova
PhD Fellow
Political Science
apetrova@nd.edu

Richard Gibbon PriceRichard Gibbon Price
PhD Fellow
Political Science
rgibbonp@nd.edu

Emma Rosenberg
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
erosenbe@nd.edu

Luis Leandro SchenoniLuis Leandro Schenoni
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
lschenon@nd.edu

Maggie ShumMaggie Shum
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
mshum@nd.edu

Sidney SimpsonSidney Simpson
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
ssimpso2@nd.edu

Nathanael Gratias Sumaktoyo
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
nsumakto@nd.edu

Tyler ThomasTyler Thomas
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
tthoma13@nd.edu

Lucia TiscorniaLucia Tiscornia
PhD Fellow
Political Science
ltiscorn@nd.edu

Juan Angel Valdez Jr. Juan Angel Valdez Jr.
Doctoral Affiliate
Political Science
Jvaldez2@nd.edu

 

Romance Languages & Literatures

Catherine Brix-Trogdon
Doctoral Affiliate
Romance Languages & Literatures
cbrixtro@nd.edu

Ingrid Luna Lopez
Doctoral Affiliate
Romance Languages & Literatures
ilunalop@nd.edu

Hector Melo Ruiz
Doctoral Affiliate
Romance Languages & Literatures
meloruiz.1@nd.edu

Santiago Quintero
Doctoral Affiliate
Romance Languages & Literatures
quintero.7@nd.edu

Paola Uparella ReyesPaola Uparella Reyes
Doctoral Affiliate
Romance Languages & Literatures
puparela@nd.edu

 

Sociology

Paige Ambord
Doctoral Affiliate
Sociology
pambord@nd.edu

Matthew Chandler
Doctoral Affiliate
Sociology and Peace Studies
mchandl4@nd.edu

Katherine ComeauKatherine Comeau
Doctoral Affiliate
Sociology
kcomeau@nd.edu

Shanna CornerShanna Corner
Dissertation Year Fellow
(2015-2016)
Sociology
Email: scorner@nd.edu

David Everson
Doctoral Affiliate
Sociology
deverson@nd.edu

Stefanie IsraelStefanie Israel de Souza
PhD Fellow
Sociology
Email: sisrael1@nd.edu

Hyunjin Deborah Kwak
Doctoral Affiliate
Sociology and Peace Studies
hkwak@nd.edu

McKenna LeClearMcKenna LeClear
PhD Fellow
Sociology
mleclear@nd.edu

Leslie MacColmanLeslie MacColman
Doctoral Affiliate
Sociology and Peace Studies
lmaccolm@nd.edu

Matthew McEwenMatthew McEwen
PhD Fellow
Sociology
mmcewen2@nd.edu

Rob Mowry
Doctoral Affiliate
Sociology
rmowry@nd.edu

Sarah NeitzSarah Neitz
PhD Fellow
Sociology
sneitz@nd.edu

Michael Penta Michael Penta
Doctoral Affiliate
Sociology
mpenta@nd.edu

Kayla Danielle Russell PierceKayla Danielle Russell Pierce
Doctoral Affiliate
Sociology
kpierce2@nd.edu

Megan RogersMegan Rogers
Dissertation Year Fellow
Sociology
mroger10@nd.edu

Dustin StoltzDustin Stoltz
Doctoral Affiliate
Sociology
dstoltz@nd.edu

Marshall Taylor Marshall Taylor
Doctoral Affiliate
Sociology
mtaylo15@nd.edu

 

Theology

Jonathan CirauloJonathan Ciraulo
Doctoral Affiliate
Theology
jciraulo@nd.edu

Rocio Betzabeth Cortes Rodriguez
Doctoral Affiliate
Theology
rcortesr@nd.edu

Lorraine Cuddeback
Doctoral Affiliate
Theology
cuddeback.1@nd.edu

Heather M. DuBois Heather M. DuBois
Doctoral Affiliate
Theology and Peace Studies
hdubois@nd.edu

Alison Fitchett Climenhaga Alison Fitchett Climenhaga
Doctoral Affiliate
Theology
afitchet@nd.edu

Leonel Guardado
Doctoral Affiliate
Theology and Peace Studies
lguardad@nd.edu

Christopher HawChristopher Haw
Doctoral Affiliate
Theology and Peace Studies
chaw@nd.edu

Craig John Iffland Craig John Iffland
Doctoral Affiliate
Theology
ciffland@nd.edu

Kyle Lambelet
Doctoral Affiliate
Theology and Peace Studies
klambele@nd.edu

John A. Lindblom
Doctoral Affiliate
Theology
jlindblo@nd.edu

Audrey SeahAudrey Seah
Doctoral Affiliate
Theology
aseah@nd.edu

 


 

INSIDE KELLOGG

       
 

Ford Program

Varieties of Democracy

Latin American/North America Church Concerns

Notre Dame Award

Kellogg Faculty Fellows

Visiting Fellows Program

Faculty Research

Working Groups

Undergraduate Student Programs

Graduate Student Programs

International Development Studies Minor

Latin American Studies Minor

Institute Publications

Working Papers

K-12 Resources

Traveling Trunks

Contact Us

 

 

The Kellogg Institute promotes scholarship, learning, and linkages that address issues of critical importance to our world. At the center of our interdisciplinary community’s work are two key themes: democratization and human development. 

 
Research Projects Outreach Faculty Students About